Birds of Indian Subcontinent

The Habits and Relationships of the Magellanic Woodpecker

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:1970
Authors:Short, LL
Journal:The Wilson Bulletin
Date Published:1970
ISBN Number:00435643
Keywords:Argentina, Campephilus, Campephilus magellanicus, Campephilus principalis, Campephilus rubricollis, Dendrocopos, Dendrocopos lignarius, Ipocrantor, Ipocrantor magellanicus, Phloeoceastes, Phloeoceastes rubricollis, Picidae, South America, Veniliornis, Veniliornis lignarius
Abstract:The large Magellanic Woodpecker (Campephilus magellanicus) inhabits the Nothofagus forests of southern South America, where only one small species of woodpecker (Dendrocopos lignarius) is a sympatric potential competitor. In the virtual absence of competition the Magellanic Woodpecker forages in diverse ways and at various sites. The sexes differ in bill length (almost no overlap between sexes), probably correlated with a difference in feeding habits. Nesting sites vary, as may the size of the clutch. The breeding season in southwestern Argentina commences in November. Drum-tapping is generally like that of other campephiline species for which data are available. Vocalizations resemble those of the Ivory-billed Woodpecker (Campephilus principalis) and other campephiline species (e.g., Phloeoceastes rubricollis). The Magellanic Woodpecker shows certain morphological similarities with the northern ivory-billed species (Campephilus principalis and C. imperialis), but also many differences which suggest that these two groups of woodpeckers independently evolved from ancestral species of Phloeoceastes. It is suggested that the Magellanic Woodpecker and the northern ivory-bills comprise but two of five groups of campephiline woodpeckers, no group of which is sufficiently distinct to merit separate generic recognition. Accordingly, the 11 species of campephiline woodpeckers are considered congeneric (genus Campephilus).
Short Title:The Wilson Bulletin
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith