674. Alseonax latirostris latirostris

(674) Alseonax latirostris latirostris.

The Sumatran Brown Flycatcher.

Muscicapa latirostris Raffl , Trans. L. S., xiii, p. 312 (1821) (Sumatra). Alseonax latirostris. Blanf. & Oates, ii, p. 35.

Vernacular names. None recorded.

Description. Above brown, in some cases with a slightly ashy tinge; feathers of crown centred darker: tail, wing-quills and greater coverts dark brown edged with rufescent or rufescent-white; lores and a ring round the eye dull white; sides of the head brown; lower plumage dull white ; the breast, throat and flanks streaked and mottled with ashy-brown.

Colours of soft parts. Iris brown; bill black, the base paler, more conspicuously so in winter, mouth orange; legs and feet black.

Measurements. Length about 130 mm.; wing 65 to 70 mm.; tail 47 to 52 mm.; tarsus about 15 mm.; culmen about 11 mm.

Young. Crown dark brown streaked with fulvous; upper plumage and wing-feathers with bold fulvous spots; lower plumage more distinctly mottled with dark brown. The bill is yellowish horny.

Distribution. Borneo, Sumatra, the Malay Peninsula, Burma, Siam and Annam. Probably also extending into Yunnan and Western China, but not Assam, where the birds are all of the next form.

Nidification and Habits. Nothing recorded, but they probably do not differ from those of the next and better-known race.

The Fauna Of British India, Including Ceylon And Burma-birds(second Edition)
Baker, EC S (1922–1930) The fauna of British India including Ceylon and Burma. Second edition. vol.2 1924.
Title in Book: 
674. Alseonax latirostris latirostris
Book Author: 
Edward Charles Stuart Baker
Page No: 
Common name: 
Sumatran Brown Flycatcher
Muscicapa latirostris latirostris
Vol. 2

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith