966. Eulabes ptilogenys

(966) Eulabes ptilogenys.

The Ceylon Grackle.

Gracula ptilogenys Blyth, J. A. S. B., xv, p. 285 (1846) (Ceylon). Eulabes ptilogenys. Blanf. & Oates, i, p. 513.

Vernacular names. Mal-kawada, Selala heneya (Cing.).

Description. Very similar to E. j. intermedia but with no bare skin on the sides of the head. The white patch on the wing •extends to the 6th primary only.

Colours of soft parts. Iris, male, greyish white sometimes mottled with brown; females white or yellowish white; bill orange-red, the base from the nostrils black; legs and feet gamboge-yellow.

Measurements. Total length about 255 to 265 mm.; wing 150 to 154 mm.; tail 65 to 70 mm.; tarsus 32 to 33 mm.; culmen 23 to 24 mm.

Distribution. Ceylon only.

Nidification. Similar to that of other species of the genus. The eggs cannot be distinguished from those of E. religiosa. A fine series were collected by Mr. J. Stewart and his collectors during March and April. Twenty-six of these average 32.8 x 22.7 mm.: maxina 36.0x21.8 and 33.1 x 23.5 mm.; minima 30.9 x 23.6 and 32.3 x 21.6 mm.

Habits. It occurs in the well-wooded parts of the main Hill-ranges in Eastern Ceylon from about 1,500 to 6,500 feet. In the forests Westwards of the Adam's Peak range it appears to descend to sea-level. Its habits are much the same as those of E. religiosa but the call is rather less shrill.

The Fauna Of British India, Including Ceylon And Burma-birds(second Edition)
Baker, EC S (1922–1930) The fauna of British India including Ceylon and Burma. Second edition. vol.3 1926.
Title in Book: 
966. Eulabes ptilogenys
Book Author: 
Edward Charles Stuart Baker
Page No: 
Common name: 
Ceylon Grackle
Sri Lanka Hill Myna
Gracula ptilogenys
Vol. 3
Term name: 

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith