180. Schoeniparus rufigularis

180. Schoeniparus rufigularis.

The Red-throated Tit-Babbler.

Minla rufigularis, Mandelli, S. F. i, p. 410 (1873); Godw.-Aust. A. M. N. H. (4) xvii, p. 33; id. J. A. S. B. xlv, pt. ii, p. 199, xlvii, pt. ii, p. 25; Hume, Cat. p. 618 bis ; Sharpe, Cat. B. M. vii, p. 610; Hume, S. F. xi, p. 249. Alcippe collaris, Wald. A. M. N. H. (4) xiv, p. 156 (1874); Hume, S. F. iii, p. 281; Godw.-Aust. J. A. S. B. xlv, pt. ii, p. 82.

Coloration. Forehead, crown, and nape chestnut, bounded on each side by a black band, the two bands blending on the nape; lores and a supercilium, below and next to the black band, white; the upper part of the ear-coverts and a patch below the eye blackish; the lower part of the ear-coverts rufous, connected together by a broad chestnut band across the throat; upper plumage, wings, and tail olive-green, the outer webs of the wings and tail suffused with fulvous; chin, throat, and centre of breast and abdomen white; remainder of the lower plumage olivaceous, tinged 'with rufous on the under tail-coverts.

Legs and feet pale yellowish horny-brown ; bill black; inside of mouth yellow (Hume).

Length about 5.5; tail 2; wing 2.1; tarsus .85; bill from gape .6.

Distribution. The Bhutan doars ; Daphla hills ; Naga hills ; Manipur.

Habits, &c. This Tit-Babbler appears to be numerous on the Daphla hills at 3000 feet of elevation. Nothing about its habits is on record.

The Fauna Of British India including Ceylon and Burma
OATES EW. The Fauna of British India, including Ceylon and Burma. Vol.1 1889.
Title in Book: 
180. Schoeniparus rufigularis
Book Author: 
Eugene William Oates, Edited by William Thomas Blanford
Page No: 
Common name: 
Red Throated Tit Babbler
Rufous-throated Fulvetta
Alcippe rufogularis
Vol. 1

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith