THE present volume, the third, contains the remainder of the Passeres and the various suborders and families of birds included in the Order Coraciiformes the whole of which are now considered by many systematists to constitute one order—Pico-Passeres. It deals with all those families in vol. iii of the ‘Avifauna’ com¬mencing with the Weaver-Birds (Ploceidoe), and with all those in vol. iv.
As in the previous volumes, the serial number given to each bird is the same as that given in the ‘Avifauna,’ this being done to facilitate reference to that work. As regards the nomenclature, this also is that of the ‘Avifauna,’ corrected in accordance with the Addenda and Corrigenda given in vols, vii and viii of that work, and with the addition of the subspecies described since those volumes were written.
The total number of species and subspecies enumerated in these volumes of the ‘Avifauna’ was 696, to which 8 additions have since been made, making a total of 704. Of these, the nidification of 545 species and subspecies are now recorded. The nidification is also known of 61 species which breed outside the area of the present work, and, finally, of no less than 92 nothing has yet been recorded.
It must be noted, however, that even of those included in the 545 birds of which something has been recorded the information is often very meagre and, in a few cases, still has to be confirmed, while in one or two the only reference, is to an oviduct egg.
I am again indebted to Colonel R. H. Rattray and to Captain R. S. P. Bates for the beautiful photographs which illustrate this volume.
6 Harold Road, S.E. 19.
4th April, 1934.

The Nidification Of Birds Of The Indian Empire
Baker, Edward Charles Stuart. The nidification of birds of the Indian Empire. Vol. 3. 1934.
Title in Book: 
Book Author: 
Edward Charles Stuart Baker
Vol. 3

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith